National Harmonica League

HarmonicaUK The National Harmonica League

The NHL is Britain's national harmonica club, with members world wide, supporting and encouraging the playing of all types of music on the chromatic, diatonic, tremolo, octave and chord harmonicas. Paul Jones is our President.



If you want to contact officers in the NHL, here are some addresses.

Please remember that we are all unpaid volunteers with other responsibilities, who do this in our spare time. There is no central office or permanent staff, so it may take some time for us to respond.


  • Ben Hewlett is Chairman of the NHL and is the local contact for the annual Bristol festival. 17 Horse Street, Chipping Sodbury, South Gloucestershire, BS37 6DA, UK. Phone 07973 284366
  • David Hambley is the Secretary/Membership Secretary and helps look after the web site. 7 Ingleborough Way, Leyland, Lancashire, PR25 4ZS, UK. Phone 07757 215047.
  • Phil Leiwy is the Treasurer. 74 Salisbury Rd, Harrow, Middlesex, HA1 1NZ, UK. Phone 07979 648007.
  • Davina Brazier is the Chromatic Weekend organiser.
  • Pat Missin is the Membership Coordinator for the USA and Canada. 1836 Smith Bridge Road, Jackson, Ohio, 45640, USA.
  • Shirish Swami is helping out by assisting the NHL Secretary and with other projects.
  • Dave Taylor looks after Media.
  • Barbara Tate Provides IT Support. 2 Ashlea, Olney, Bucks, MK46 5HW, UK.
  • Roger Trobridge is the Harmonica World magazine Editor and looks after the web site. He is a former Chairman of the NHL. 112 Hag Hill Rise, Taplow, Maidenhead, Berks SL6 0LT, UK. Phone 01628 604069.

NHL Helpers

  • Rollen Flood researches and advises on the beneficial impacts of harmonica playing on our health.
  • Dick Powell is looking after education and teaching. Contact him if you need a teacher.
  • Sam Wilkinson undertakes special projects.


  • President of the NHL: Paul Jones
  • Vice President for USA and Canada: Norm Dobson
  • Patrons: Brendan Power, Lee Sankey, Adam Glasser

Past Presidents

These include:

  • Ronald Chesney; and
  • Larry Adler

Past Chairmen since the 1970s

  • Ben Hewlett: 2012 to present
  • Roger Trobridge: 2000 to 2012
  • Colin Mort: 1988 to 2000
  • John Walton: 1981 to 1987 when the NHL became an independent organisation
  • John Tyler: 1976-81 when it was a Hohner run organisation


  • Ben Hewlett
  • Dave Hambley
  • Steve Jennings
  • Phil Leiwy
  • Pat Missin
  • Shirish Swami
  • Barbara Tate
  • Roger Trobridge